Community Safety Council

Meeting Minutes

September 30, 2014 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm 280N York Lanes

~.

In attendance: Norma Sue Fisher-Stitt (Chair), President Shoukri, Aldo Altomare, Vanessa Aguiar for Aileen Ashman, Prakash Amarasooriya, Sayjon Ariyarathnam, Noël Badiou, Melissa Belisle, Rina Brandt, Robert Castle, Tomorr Cerriku, Rachele Clemente, Ruthann Dyer, Jose Etcheverry, Debbie Hansen, Marlo Harley, Matthew Harris, Mandi Hickman, Meagan Heath for Bob Smith, Lee Iskander, Roxana Jahani Aval, Shannon Jackson, Asal Kazemi, Patrick Legris, Emiljano Mance, Dimitra Markatas, Ijade Maxwell Rodrigues, Euan McDermott for Sgt. Stephen Hicks, Steve Mulholland, Regan Mancini, John Mayberry, Katherine Newman, Paul O'Brien, Melissa Palermo, Catherine Salole, Toby Samson, Elana Shugar, Steve Sicluna, Dragan Spasojevic, Jeff Stagger, Sunil Taneja, Karen Traboulay, Ines Van Deuren, Marc Wilchesky, Terry Wright, Lara Yehia

Regrets: Sayjon Ariyarathnma, Steve Dempsey, Steve Dewar, Paul Elliott, Lorna Erwin, Rosanna Furgiuele, Paul Elliott, Christel Galea, Craig Heron, Scott Jarvis, Debbie Kee, Bernard King, Lluvia Machuca Ruelas, Anne Moore, Lesley Powell, Helen Psathas, Dewan Rahman, Sheila Shahrokhi, Sean Siddik, Jodine Tavares, Calvin Traynor, Marzena Tyszkiewicz, Sheila Wilmot

Chair's Welcome

Chair Norma Sue Fisher-Stitt introduced herself to the Council as the incoming Community Safety Council (CSC) Chair for a two year term. Norma Sue Fisher-Stitt welcomed those in attendance to the 1st general meeting for 2014-2015. She explained that the CSC is an advisory body to the President and an annual report, which includes recommendations for changes to University programs, policies or procedures, is submitted to the President at the end of each academic year. The CSC focus is on safety related practices, policies and outcomes with the objective to reflect the York University community.

The meeting schedule, agendas and meeting minutes can be found on the CSC website <u>www.yorku.ca/communitysafetyCouncil</u>

President's Welcome

Dr. Shoukri thanked Professor Norma Sue Fisher-Stitt for agreeing to serve as Chair of the Community Safety Council. The President thanked the Council members for their dedicated work over the past year and the submission of the annual report for 2013-2014. All recommendations included in the report have been approved.

Recommendation 19, Equity Statement, requires additional information in order for it to be fully considered.

Dr. Shoukri referred to recent efforts all across campus that have played a significant role such as measures taken through CSBO (LCD screens, lights), orientation events like You Had Me at Consent, development and implementation of a Bystander invention program.

There was a discussion around the presence of uniformed and armed police officers at the meeting. Toronto Police Service is included as a member of the Council as noted in the Terms of Reference. The President and the Chair reiterated that the Council is inclusive of all parties in the communities in and around York University who share a concern for safety.

Introduction of members

New and returning members introduced themselves.

Approval of Meeting Minutes

Norma Sue Fisher-Stitt motioned to approve the meeting minutes of March 18, 2014. The minutes were unanimously approved as corrected. Correction to the minutes: The Community Safety Council Vice-Chair is now a member of the Student Representative Roundtable.

Student Sub-Committee Overview & Update

Prakash Amarasooriya, CSC Vice-Chair for 2013-2014, provided an overview of the Student Sub-Committee and encouraged the students to participate. Prakash provided an update on the initiatives that the Student Sub-Committee took up during 2013-2014 (see attachment).

Vice-Chair Election

Norma Sue asked for student member nominees for the appointment of the Council Vice-Chair. Rachele Clemente and Prakash Amarasooriya were the two volunteers who

came forward. Voting took place and Prakash Amarasooriya was elected Vice-Chair of the committee for a second term.

Safety Audit Committee Selection

Norma Sue Fisher-Stitt and Rob Castle provided an overview of the Safety Audit Sub-Committee. The purpose of the Audit Sub-Committee is to monitor and oversee the implementation of METRAC recommendations, identify gaps in the implementation plans and make recommendations accordingly to CSC. The Committee has also been charged with monitoring the progress of recommendations made by the CSC. The Audit Sub-Committee meets prior to each meeting of the CSC. Professor Anne Moore is the Chair of the Safety Audit Sub-Committee.

The following members volunteered to join the Sub-Committee:

- Lara Yehia
- Katherine Newman
- Rina Brandt
- Sunil Taneja
- Melissa Belisle
- Asal Kazemi
- Rachele Clemente
- Dragan Spasojevic
- Roxana Jahani Aval

Safety Initiatives Overview

Rob Castle provided an update on safety initiatives and their progress based on METRAC 101 recommendations (see attachment).

A safety initiative suggested for the Council to consider is a designated refuge area on each building floor for people with disability.

Annual Report 2013-2014

The annual report and the President's response to the recommendations were circulated to the Council in advance of the meeting.

2014-2015 CSC Topics

An online survey asking the Council members to provide their input on the topics that they would like the CSC to discuss this year was circulated to the Council in advance of the meeting. The topics were presented and the Council members present voted on the topics to be discussed at the CSC meetings for 2013-2014.

The results of this vote are shown below:

	Topics	Number of Votes
0	Mental Health	17
0	Sexual Assault Prevention, Education & Support	15
0	VTRA Protocol	12
0	Safety Communication and Outreach	12
0	Active Bystander Program	11
0	Safety Around the Parking Areas & Public Spaces	9
0	Anti-racial profiling	6
0	Community Partnerships	6
0	One Card System	6
0	Safety within and around Colleges	4
0	Community Police Station/Kiosk on Campus	3
0	Enhancing a Culture of Safety	2
0	VTRA Expectations	1
0	Implementation of Recommendations	1
0	Engagement Centre	0
0	General Violence Working Group	0

Working Group Development

The above topics and the vote results will be considered in developing the working groups. For the topics that are not assigned to a working group, it was suggested that a guest speaker will be invited to a Council meeting to give an update on the specific topic and provide the Council with an opportunity to have a discussion. A notice identifying the potential working groups will be circulated to the CSC prior to the next meeting. After the working groups are confirmed, the Council members will be invited to join their group(s) of interest.

Inclusion Training Workshop

An inclusion training workshop for new and existing members will be scheduled in November. The date will be announced shortly.

The meeting adjourned at 4:05pm.

Next meeting

The next meeting is scheduled on November 24th from 2:00-4:00pm in 280N York Lanes.