Community Safety Council Meeting

Wednesday, September 28, 2011 2:30 pm – 4:30 pm 519, YRT

Minutes

In Attendance: Mamdouh Shoukri, Pat Bradshaw, Ijade Maxwell Rodrigues, Livy Visano, Matthew Harris, Bob Smith, Janet Huang, Andreé Paulin, Lesley Powell, Rob Castle, Catherine Salole, Vanessa Hunt, Rob Kilfoyle, Todd Zubyk, Catherine Davidson, Pavel Castillo, Paul Elliott, Sunil Taneja, Steve Dranitsaris, Steve Sicluna, Sgt. Jason Kraft, Carolyn McDougall, Noël Badiou, Matt Smith, Sharon Hooper, Debbie Jamieson, Jamie Nixon, Christian Marjollet, Debbie Hansen, Marc Wilchesky, Samantha Lampert, Mohan Mishra, Janet Morrison, Rose Celebre

Regrets: Ceceil Beckford, Melody King, Rosanna Furgiuele, Paula Gowdie Rose, Matthew Cheuk, Jacinthe Michaud, Patricia Yu, Tanya McFadyen, Debbie Kee, Nisha Eswaran, Catherine Tsouvaltsidis, Paul Bailey, Przbyslaw Mejnarowicz, Scott Jarvis, Sheila Wilmot, Tka Pinnock, Vida Babakar, Kraig Gallivan, Lyna Tuong, Brittaney Caron, Calvin Traynor, Helen Psathas, Justin Ramdewar, Kamran Ansari, Sonia Gupta

1. President's Comments

 President Mamdouh Shoukri extended his appreciation to all members for their dedication and continued work on the CSC. President Shoukri reiterated that the CSC is an advisory body comprised of many members in and around York University who all share a concern for safety. The safety and security of the community is of utmost importance.

2. Introduction of Members

New and returning members were introduced. Following introductions, President Shoukri encouraged members to continue to be open, frank and to remember that all aspects of safety (not just physical) must be considered within the mandate of the Council.

3. Chair's Remarks

 Pat Bradshaw welcomed all members and provided a review of the mandate, council operations and culture, responsibilities of members and the 2011-2012 meeting schedule. Members were asked to attend all CSC meetings, to send regrets if unable to attend and were reminded of their responsibility to help communicate between the CSC and their respective community groups (e.g. have a report from the CSC as a standing item on their meeting agendas). (see attachment)

4. Election of Student Co-Chair

 Pat Bradshaw asked for student member nominees for the appointment of the council Vice-Chair. Vanessa Hunt was elected to the position of Vice-Chair for the 2011-2012.

5. Approval of Minutes - April 28, 2011

• Correction of minutes as discussed, item # 3. Minutes approved.

6. Report from Audit Sub-Committee

 Catherine Davidson provided a report on SASC activity (see attachment) and advised that the SASC is open to new members and others are welcome to join the committee.

7. Volunteers to Participate in CPTED Audit

- The following volunteers will work with Security Services:
 - 1. Sunil Taneja
 - 2. Janet Morrison
 - 3. Debbie Jamieson Samantha Lampert

8. Update on METRAC Report Implementation including go-Safe and Security

- Update to the council was provided by Rob Castle (see attachment)
- Discussion included new Security Services intervention policy/procedures. Rob Kilfoyle reiterated that Security staff is present to serve and protect the York University community from outsiders who might pose a threat to community members and/or the university as a whole.

9. Next Meeting and Training

Inclusivity training to be facilitated by the Centre for Human Rights,
Noël Badiou. Training will take place at the next CSC meeting scheduled as follows:

Wednesday, November 30, 2011 2:30 pm – 5:00 pm 519, YRT

10. Break out session notes (see attachment)